Skip to content

Being Creative – A Journey

December 3, 2010

The farthest of my memories are a blur, a potpourri of memories which all had one thing in common, me tinkering around with something. My first creation was a potential energy powered toy airplane which used an elastic rubber band, and an ice cream stick. And the next was when we were staying at a hotel, when I decided to get rid of batteries and tap directly into the powergrid and broke off the wired controller (which housed the batteries) and plugged those naked copper wires into the AC power outlet, sparkling a huge spark, and flames. It was an accident, one which I luckily survived to be writing this. But it was also my curiosity that had driven me to search for an alternate power source, for back then I wasn’t in school yet. And my education was plain observation, which still is one of the best education one can ever have if applied properly.

My passion for making things happen was borne out of curiosity and (was) aided by a healthy mind (then). I had attached makeshift missiles to a Toy Robot which I owned, which again used a wired remote. Somehow, got them to launch. All this was before I even joined playschool. Looking back at such memories I can only say that School education has softened my brain, and not otherwise. The media (TV, and others) are mostly useless and do not inspire creativity nor curiosity. And from my observations of people who’ve attained greatness I can safely say that most, if not all of them had come up with ingenious ideas rather than ingenuous ones on their own.

Education is universal, and shouldn’t be limited to what one learns in a classroom, for such education is detrimental to the development of the human brain without proper all round education. The same is true for everything. One needs to look at both sides of the story to know what actually is going in. I’ve had my share of being on both sides of one, and believe me it isn’t easy to comprehend what’s going on until you crossover to the other side to take a look for yourself. For Creativity can be sparked anywhere, in the crapper rather than a research institute!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Abhinav permalink
    December 11, 2010 2:32 pm

    nice read :D
    on reading this, a quote struck my mind and I think it is fitting enough for this article :)
    I was born intelligent, but education ruined me

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

