Skip to content

Overcoming that dreaded block

September 22, 2010

If you’ve been following this blog you would’ve known that there hasn’t been any activity lately, but it isn’t so. I have sat down at times, wanting to write a post about the latest tech/happening/movie/etc that I’m interested about, but usually that ends up not going further than a title and a couple lines of text, cause either something more important creeps up or I just lose track of the post amid the plethora of open tabs (multitasking ain’t exactly my forte) So, as most would say, I did experience that dreaded block — The Writer’s Block, because of which I couldn’t get around to finishing a few articles that I’d promised my mates for the college newsletter, or get on with my scripts/novels, etc.

This entity — the writer’s block, is a curse, a disease which robs us of an ability to express our thoughts in text. And upon constant contemplation I’ve determined the causes for my particular case of the Writer’s block.

Expectations, when this blog was fresh, were nonexistent. I cared less about who would read my blog, posting my thoughts, unmindful of the readership, with no expectation, expecting no credit. It was an outlet of my thoughts, a place where my thoughts could take refuge. A place which my thoughts could call theirs. But as the readership increased expectations grew and I began to doubt myself if I could always meet them, apparently I’d succumbed to this overwhelming pressure. The only solution for this would be to pen down thoughts just for the heck of it, rather than attaining constant applause for a great blog.

Twittering did lead me down this path. Its called Microblogging for a reason and forces us to cramp our thoughts into 140 characters, something which is essentially a detrimental activity for our breed. It takes out many views/angles one might want to express about a particular subject. Once a tweet is posted, that particular thought vanishes from one’s mind, not being an object of constant interest that pricks at the person’s mental state. My thought process always revolves around some particular idea/entity which is extinguished only when I’ve jotted down a few lines and had my share of views on that particular entity. These thought processes stretch from a few hours to days, sometimes even weeks. A prolonged thought process only helps us get various personal views on something, and which contributes to a great if not a mediocre article.

Responsibilities, everyone has them, but the degree of them varies per person. Some take up writing/blogging responsibly, others try to. Its not always that a person can spend time hammering at their keyboards, social commitments, responsibilities, work, etc are bound to drag many a creative person down. One of the reasons why my peak blogging/writing occurs at night. We need to sit back and sort our priorities accordingly, for blogging is a responsibility in itself. We have a responsibility to convey our thoughts in words, just as other artists convey their creativeness in their respective manners.

These should be my weaknesses, the ones which make me a mortal of a blogger :)

Raze down that block folks. You sure as hell can !

P.S. Don’t buy this !

2 Comments leave one →
  1. decodedthought permalink
    October 3, 2010 11:35 pm

    Good to see you blogging again :)

    Nice post.
    ~
    decodedthought

    • October 6, 2010 2:16 am

      Thank you :) Been a while, I’ve gotten rusty. Although, I hope that I stick to it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

