Skip to content

HTC Hero and how HTC pulled it back from being the real “Hero”

July 25, 2009
Official-HTC-Hero-01It was not long ago, when I’d laid my eyes on the HTC Hero, in fact I believe i’d first seen it on my Opera Mini on my SE W830i, while reading Engadget about Adobe Flash on Mobiles(Cellular Phones). I was not satisfied with what i’d seen, for I am a person who believes in seeing images in all its glory. So, as soon as I’d come home from College, I logged on to interwebs and was stunned on seeing those images in HD !
The Design as we all know, is phenomenal and outstanding ! And I personally love that lil’ Jay Leno Chin that HTC tirelessly slaps on most of its devices. And the UI, was simply outstanding, something that I thought Android would never achieve so soon. HTC had worked on it, and by God, they had made a masterpiece ! I personally sighed upon the previous iterations of Android UI. But by the Heavens, the Hero was simply outstanding, and would deliver us Flash on the go, a dream for many of us. It was a no brainer that there’d be lives lost over this lil fella. But, I had grown fearful, for the Hardware specifications were not known by then (at least not to me). But now after a few reviews and after the Hardware Specs were revealed, my worst fears had come true. HTC had worked tirelessly on its UI, but failed to think of the Hardware it would require, and just slapped a tried and tested hardware config, that just worked !
While it might be reasonable that HTC was not pinning all its hopes on this, an Android device, which just started as a side project while it had been busy polishing WinMo devices. For HTC, Android was an experiment, to see how the market would react to a new MobileOS. But they were the first to support a infant OS and nevertheless, did work on it. But at the back of their mind, they just couldn’t think of an Android device as their Flagship model. For they are and have been staunch WinMo aficionados. And While HTC has succeeded in bringing their innovations to Android, they have failed their new small, but rapidly growing legion of Android fans. While the tech community is quick to label a touchscreen device a “iPhone Killer”, this device could very well have been just that ! But it just fell short, thanks to HTC.
Here’s to hoping that upcoming Android devices from HTC be more powerful in the Hardware front as well. For there’s not a lot that Mobile Flash & a stunning UI & awe-inspiring design can help when the hardware is not powerful enough.
For me the Hero will always be the love that never was meant to be !

Official-HTC-Hero-01

It was not long ago, when I’d laid my eyes on the HTC Hero, in fact I believe i’d first seen it on my Opera Mini on my SE W830i, while reading Engadget about Adobe Flash on Mobiles(Cellular Phones). I was not satisfied with what i’d seen, for I am a person who believes in seeing images in all its glory. So, as soon as I’d come home from College, I logged on to interwebs and was stunned on seeing those images in HD !

The Design as we all know, is phenomenal and outstanding ! And I personally love that lil’ Jay Leno Chin that HTC tirelessly slaps on most of its devices. And the UI, was simply outstanding, something that I thought Android would never achieve so soon. HTC had worked on it, and by God, they had made a masterpiece ! I personally sighed upon the previous iterations of Android UI. But by the Heavens, the Hero was simply outstanding, and would deliver us Flash on the go, a dream for many of us. It was a no brainer that there’d be lives lost over this lil bugger. But, I had grown fearful, for the Hardware specifications were not known by then (at least not to me). But now after a few reviews and after the Hardware Specs were revealed, my worst fears had come true. HTC had worked tirelessly on its UI, but failed to think of the Hardware it would require, and just slapped a tried and tested hardware config, that just seemed to work !

While it might be reasonable that HTC was not pinning all its hopes on this, an Android device, which just started as a side project while it had been busy polishing WinMo devices. For HTC, Android was an experiment, to see how the market would react to a new MobileOS. But they were the first to support an infant OS and nevertheless, did work on it. But at the back of their mind, they just couldn’t think of an Android device as their Flagship model. For they are and have been staunch WinMo aficionados. And While HTC has succeeded in bringing their innovations to Android, they have failed their new small, but rapidly growing legion of Android fans. While the tech community is desperate for that elusiveĀ “iPhone Killer”, this device could very well have been just that ! But it fell short, thanks to HTC.

Its unacceptable that HTC didn’t even consider putting in a better Processor, and just decided to throw in a Qualcomm MSM7200A, which is the same chip that the Touch Diamond 2, the Magic and the Galaxy sport. While it may seem sufficient for most operations it does fall short of delivering a full stutter free experience, a SoC akin to what the Pre and the 3Gs have might have been a better decision on HTC’s part. But as I’d said, they couldn’t just think of an Android device as a Flagship model of theirs.

Here’s to hoping that upcoming Android devices from HTC be more powerful in the Hardware front as well. For there’s not a lot that Mobile Flash & a stunning UI & awe-inspiring design can help when the hardware is not powerful enough. HTC doesn’t quite realize Uncle Ben’s quote that,

“With great Software, Comes the need for great Hardware”

For me the Hero will always be the love that never was meant to be !

htchero

sense_hero

P.S: Just to showcase the Widget UI of the Hero, I’ve included a few more pics. Please note that the Teflon coating (a first for Mobile Phones) is only on the White version of this Phone.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tanz permalink
    July 26, 2009 12:40 pm

    Really looking forward to have a hands on experience of android platform.. Most importantly the consumer has option in OS as well. Windows…Symbian…n now Android

  2. Monstermac permalink
    August 13, 2009 8:29 am

    I always believed in Android… and i always will. The G1 ws somethg got me started and i strongly feel that Android is the future of all next generation post – pc devices.

    Be Titan.Code Strong.

  3. Extenze permalink
    August 14, 2009 6:44 am

    It was interesting. You seem very knowledgeable in your field !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

